Awards for Excellence in Sustainability

Announcement of the Winners of the Seventh Annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability.

The American Planning Association’s Sustainable Communities Division (SCD) is pleased to announce the winners of the seventh annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability. The awards honor projects, plans, policies, individuals, and organizations whose work is dedicated to supporting sustainable communities.

The winners represent extraordinary achievements in eight Sustainable Planning categories. The categories and winners are:

Community Plan: City of Pittsburgh, EcoInnovation District Plan (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

RENDER_Blvd of Allies_AFTER - Pitts

Municipal, State, or Regional Plan: Department of Energy & Environment and the DC Office of Planning, Sustainable DC 2.0 (Washington, District of Columbia)


Policy, Law, or Tool: Utile, Coastal Flood Resilience Design Guidelines (Boston, Massachusetts)

03 Public realm guidelines - boston

Energy Plan or Project: BuroHappold Engineering & HEET, GeoMicroDistrict Feasibility Study (Massachusetts)

Prototypical Street Segments

Green Infrastructure Plan or Project: Meyer Studio Land Architects, Heartwood Greenway System (Omaha, Nebraska)


Park, Recreation, or Open Space Plan or Project: Parks and Recreation Department, Our Parks, Our Future: Austin Parks & Recreation Long Range Plan  (Austin, Texas)

Identifying Areas in Need of Parkland - austin

Urban Design Plan or Development Project: ReMake Group, Hazelwood Green Preliminary Land Development Plan (Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania)

Architectural; Illustration; Rendering; Sketch; Watercolor; Skibba; Zanetta

Leadership in Sustainability: City of West Hollywood, California (West Hollywood, California)

CAP Highlights 2017 Infographic

To receive an announcement when the 2021 Awards open for nominations (expected in November 2020), please subscribe to the SCD news bulletin.

Past Award Winners: