The 3rd Annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability

awards announced




American Planning Association – Sustainable Communities Division Announces the Winners of the Third Annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability.

Phoenix, AZ- April 4, 2016 – The American Planning Association’s Sustainable Communities Division (SCD) announced the third annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability at the National Planning Conference in Phoenix, AZ. The awards honor project, plans, policies, individuals, and organizations whose work is dedicated to supporting and growing sustainable communities. The SCD supports planners who are committed to planning for sustainable communities by integrating all aspects of sustainability into their work through the combined economic, social, and ecological factors that shape communities.

In partnership with the International and Urban Design and Preservation Divisions, the 2016 Awards for Excellence in Sustainability have expanded to an international audience, with nominations coming in from across the globe. The winners represent extraordinary achievements in 7 Sustainable Planning categories. The categories and winners are:


The Division Council Award for Best Practice: Scott Turner, Anne Miller

Sustainable Building Project Award: Buenos Aires City Government, New Government House, Buenos Aires, Argentina

001-ASustainable Park, Recreation, or Open Space Project Award: Amigos de los Rios, Emerald Necklace Plan Phase 2, Los Angeles, California United States

Sustainable Policy, Law or Plan Award : Cities of Brampton, Richmond Hill, and Vaughn, Measuring the Sustainability Performance of New Development in Brampton, Richmond Hill, and Vaughan, Brampton, Vaughan, and Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada

IMG_1268Sustainable Development Project: Denver Regional Transportation District, Denver Union Station, Denver Colorado, United States

Green Infrastructure or Transportation Project: City of Tualatin/Cardno, Tualatin River Greenway Shared Use Path, Tualatin, Oregon, United States

IMG_1274Sustainable Urban Design, or Preservation Plan or Project: City of Alexandria/SmithGroupJJR, Eisenhower West, Alexandria, Virginia, United States

Leadership in Sustainability: Sustainable Jersey, New Jersey, United States



About the American Planning Association (APA): APA is an independent, not-for-profit educational organization that provides leadership in the development of vital communities. APA includes a professional institute for certified planners, 47 chapters, 20 divisions, and special memberships for students.

About the APA Sustainable Communities Division: The need for leadership on comprehensive approaches to sustainability planning is growing. The APA Sustainable Communities Division’s goal is to help planners engage in and collaborate on innovative approaches to this important emerging issue. The Division has been recognized for outstanding communication efforts with a Divisions Council Achievement Award for their email bulletin which is published bi-monthly.

To learn more please contact: Scott Turner



The Sustainable Communities Division, in partnership with the International and Urban Design & Preservation Divisions, is pleased to announce the call for nominees for the 3rd Annual Excellence in Sustainability Awards.  These awards honor projects, plans, policies, individuals, and organizations who are dedicated to supporting and growing sustainable communities.  This year we will be offering awards in the following categories:

  • Sustainable Development Project
  • Sustainable Park, Recreation or Open Space Project
  • Sustainable Policy, Law, or Plan
  • Emerging Leader’s Sustainability Plan or Project
  • Sustainable Building Project
  • Green Infrastructure or Transportation Project
  • Sustainable Urban Design or Preservation Plan or Project
  • Leadership in Sustainability


Open to everyone, APA members and non-members. Any plan, project, program, tool, process, report, or ordinance entered must have been published, implemented, or completed within three years of the date of submission. Published drafts of plans are not acceptable. See the Application Packet for more details.

Awards Reception

All awards will be presented at the joint Sustainable Communities Division, International Division, and Urban Design & Preservation Division reception on Sunday, April 3rd, 2016 during the 2016 National Conference of American Planning Association in Phoenix, Arizona.

To Apply

All entry nominations shall be submitted digitally. Applications are due electronically by 5:00 on Monday, February 29, 2016. The application packet with Awards Criteria and full instructions is available at


Please email

Previous Award winners can be viewed here:

Please share this awards announcement widely!