Announcing the Winners of the Sixth Annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability!

The APA Sustainable Communities Division announced the winners of the sixth annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability at the 2019 National Planning Conference in San Francisco. The awards honor projects, plans, policies, individuals, and organizations whose work is dedicated to supporting sustainable communities.

The winners represent extraordinary achievements in six Sustainable Planning categories. The categories and winners are:

Community Sustainability or Resilience Plan: City of Cleveland, Mayor’s Office of Sustainability, 2018 Cleveland Climate Action Plan: Building Thriving and Resilient Neighborhoods for All (Cleveland, Ohio)

Sustainable Urban Design Plan or Development Project: evolve environment::architecture, Breathe Easy: Millvale Air Quality Planning (Millvale, Allegheny County, Pennsylvania)

Sustainable Park, Recreation, or Open Space Plan or Project: Los Angeles County Department of Parks and Recreation, Los Angeles County Master Plan for Sustainable Parks and Recreation: Phase I (County of Los Angeles, California)

Sustainable Green Infrastructure Plan or Project: City of Colorado Springs and Felsburg Holt & Ullevig, Envision Shooks Run (Colorado Springs, Colorado)

Sustainable Policy, Law, or Tool: City of Norfolk, Building a Better Norfolk: A Zoning Ordinance for the 21st Century (Norfolk, Virginia)

Leadership in Sustainability: Sustainable Design Assessment Team (SDAT) Program, Center for Communities by Design, American Institute of Architects (Washington, DC)



Comments are closed.