Announcing the Winners of the Fifth Annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability and Student Essay Contest

Today, the Sustainable Communities Division announced the winners of the Fifth Annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability and the student essay contest at the 2018 National Planning Conference in New Orleans. You can download the presentation here [PDF].

Awards for Excellence in Sustainability

The awards honor projects, plans, policies, individuals, and organizations whose work is dedicated to supporting sustainable communities. The winners represent extraordinary achievements in eight Sustainable Planning categories. The categories and winners are:

Community Sustainability or Resilience Plan: City of Hermosa Beach, PLAN Hermosa – the City of Hermosa Beach’s Integrated General Plan and Local Coastal Program (City of Hermosa Beach, California)

State or Regional Sustainability or Resilience Plan: Thurston Regional Planning Council, Thurston Climate Adaptation Plan: Climate Resilience Actions for Thurston County and South Puget Sound (Olympia, Washington)

Sustainable Policy, Law, or Tool: San Francisco Planning Department & San Francisco Department of the Environment, Better Roofs Ordinance (San Francisco, California)

Sustainable Urban Design Plan or Development Project: City of Meriden, Meriden 2020: A Comprehensive Plan for Downtown Meriden (Meriden, Connecticut)

Sustainable Park, Recreation, or Open Space Project: City of Miramar, Miramar Fruit & Vegetable Garden (Miramar, Florida)

Sustainable Transportation Project: Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority, Metro Expo Line Phase 2 (Los Angeles County, California)

Sustainable Green Infrastructure Project: Capital Region Water, Community Greening Plan: A Green Stormwater Infrastructure Plan for Harrisburg (Harrisburg, Pennsylvania)

Leadership in Sustainability: Environmental Compliance & Sustainability Department, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority (Los Angeles County, California)


Student Essay Contest

The annual essay contest aims to recognize and foster the academic excellence of university students pursuing studies in fields related to sustainable community planning. Students may submit essays on any subject that addresses items in the APA’s Sustainability Policy Framework through a planning perspective.

Undergraduate Student Winners

Elena Arakaki

  • From: Whitman College
  • Specialization: Sociology/Environmental Studies
  • Essay: “The Social Relevance of Urban Public Parks.”

Brian Gropp

  • From: University of Georgia
  • Specialization: Geography
  • Essay: “New Urbanism as the Solution to Climate Change.”


Graduate Student Winners

Hannah Osman

  • From: Binghamton University
  • Specialization: Public Administration
  • Essay: “Wind Power to Revitalize a Region.”

August Williams-Eynon

  • From: University of Massachusetts Amherst
  • Specialization: Regional Planning
  • Essay: “The Northern Manhattan Climate Action Plan: A New Participatory Model for Climate Change Planning.”


To learn more please contact: Matt Bucchin (Division Chair),

Please subscribe to the SCD e-bulletin to receive updates about the 2019 awards nomination process.


Comments are closed.