APA Sustainable Communities Division announces first annual award program for Excellence in Sustainability – APPLICATIONS NOW ACCEPTED


The American Planning Association Sustainable Communities Division (APA-SCD) proudly announces the first annual Awards for Excellence in Sustainability. The Division is accepting applications until March 31, 2014 in seven categories:

  • Sustainable Development Project
  • Sustainable Building Project
  • Sustainable Park, Recreation or Open Space Project
  • Green Infrastructure Project
  • Sustainable Policy, Law or Plan
  • Leadership in Sustainability
  • Emerging Leader’s Sustainability Plan or Project

Click here for the full application packet.


The award criteria for projects include (1) Originality + Innovation, (2) Compatibility, (3) Effectiveness + Results, (4) Engagement, & (5) Transferability. For leadership, criteria are (1) Quality, (2) Influence, (3) Innovation + Inspiration, (4) Outreach and Engagement


Plans, projects, programs, tools, processes, reports, or ordinances must have been published, implemented, or completed within the past three years (no drafts). Awards are for projects in the United States and Canada. The Leadership in Sustainability award can be an APA or non-APA member.


Applications are due by 5 p.m. March 31, 2014. The application consists of (1) one page entry form, (2) A brief description of the nominated person or project and how they exemplify excellence in sustainability, at least one photo, and up to 20 pages of supporting materials.

The awards will be given Sunday April 27, 2014 at the APA-SCD Annual Reception and Awards Celebration at The Double Tree at Hilton, 160 Spring Street, NW, Atlanta, Georgia, 5-7 PM.


Questions should be directed via e-mail to  PASustainabilityAwards@gmail.com or to Becky Bradley, AICP, 610-264-4544.


Comments are closed.